Disappearing Act

Jobs aren’t the only thing disappearing. Internships are becoming more scarce as companies trim their budgets and eliminate unnecessary spending. I learned this firsthand last week.

About a month ago I learned that I had received a Dow Jones internship in Frederick, Maryland at a local daily newspaper. Just last week, though, I received a call from Dow Jones informing me that the newspaper had dropped out of the program because of insufficient funds to pay a summer intern. Perfect. I had already found and secured the perfect living situation and had planned my summer out in my head.

I was relocated to Trevose, Pennsylvania, to work for a mid-sized company that creates and develops marketing products. I took a pay cut of $50 a week. I’m happy about my new situation, but am nonetheless worried that this sort of event might become a more common occurrence.

Everyone is aware that jobs are in short supply, especially for the more highly paid and overqualified demographic of 40-50-year-olds in the industry. But are college students aware that their internships (which already pay almost nothing) may become either unpaid or, worse, obsolete?

I fear not. I can only hope that the economy will improve, advertisers will buy ads, writers will find jobs and paychecks will increase in amount. Oh, and college students will receive paid internships.

Leave a Reply

